As charities push ahead with digital change, shouldn’t more of them be recognised? We interviewed Robin Knowles, Founder and CEO of Digital Leaders, to find out how charities could win a place in the Digital Leaders 100 List. Nominations close this Friday (2 March 2018). 

1. What is the DL100?

The Digital Leaders 100 list was launched in 2013 as a new way to recognise individuals and organisations who demonstrate a pioneering and sustainable approach to digital transformation across the public, private and non-profit sectors.

Each year, the Digital Leaders’ community, together with the wider digital sector, nominates their favourites across each of 10 categories with 10 available places to create a final list of 100. Our judges shortlist the nominees into a final list of 100 and following the announcement of this list, a public vote is opened to put the 100 names into a final order.

The top places in the list and the category winners will be announced on the 21st of June 2018 at an Awards dinner.

2. How and why should charities get involved?

To be considered for the list you need to be nominated. Once nominated we will get in touch to ask you to tell us more about your organisation and to ask you if you are happy to be put forward and why you feel the judges should consider electing you as one of the ten in this category. The nominees sent us written evidence and links to websites, evaluations and social media showing the impact of their work.

If you are lucky enough to make the final DL100 list you will be invited to big launch event after which there is another round of judging and a public vote to put the list into a final order.

3. What are the judges looking for?

The Charity Sector has been behind other sectors in embracing Digital Transformation despite the strong evidence of its benefits. This award is for charities or non-profit organisations who have in the last year demonstrated the transformative power of digital to change themselves or their services to their beneficiaries.

4. We’d love to hear about previous charity winners. Can you tell us more?

2017 – Sheffield Flourish –
2016 – Action for Children –
2015 – Abilitynet –